top of page

Scene Stealers

For our following project ‘Scene Stealers’ we have been tasked with reviewing a number of films. We then have to select five of these and watch their trailer preview on YouTube. We are to watch at least two films completely, so that we are able to reinterpret a specific scene as an illustrative artwork. The aim is to reinterpret a scene from a different perspective, that will engage with a fan of the film. We should be able to communicate the narrative without using text. The illustrative interpretation can be created with one colour and a key fine-liner, and we are to make use of negative and positive infills when suitable.


Out of the films that we were provided with, the following ones stood out to me the most:

‘The Day the Earth Stood Still’ (1951)

‘Bram Stoker’s Dracula’ (1992)

‘I Robot’ (2004)

‘Pans Labyrinth” (2006)

‘Under the Skin’ (2014)


As we were tasked with watching the trailers for the films we were interested in, I took this opportunity to start drawing some rough sketches. Depending on the film, I would focus on different features. For example in ‘I Robot’ my main focus was the robots, their personalities and the majority of them. In the film ‘The Day the Earth Stood Still’ I was also fixated on the characters, but this time I decided to use a persona and depict it in different ways. I tried out a variety of different styles to see which one had the best effect and most impact relating to the narrative. Considering we weren’t allowed to use a selection of colours, I found that this was an interesting way to reinterpret the scenes characters.











0 comments
bottom of page