top of page

Captivating large red final piece


So far I’ve managed to experiment in a variety of colours, onto different textured materials and I’ve printed onto smaller offcuts of fabrics, but I haven't printed a large piece yet. For my final piece and for the work-in-progress exhibition this is something I was still aiming to do.

My individual prints are roughly A3 size and they look effective on their own but once I hang them on large white walls, an A3 print looks tiny in comparison and almost gets lost in the wall. If I were to hang one large statement piece on the wall on its own however, it instantly draws attention and makes the space look larger. As a way of drawing attention to my work in an exhibition involving 70+ people, I decided that a larger scale piece would be the most compelling way to stand out.


Close-ups & process pictures of creating this piece


I stuck to printing onto red as the colour is seen as damaging in the fashion industry due to the dye used to reach this colour. In doing so, I am able to highlight this issue while also creating bright work to attract viewers. I mixed paint in different shades such as dark red, light red, pink, a peach tone and white. Throughout my process of this project I found that colour combinations using shades relating to the colour of the fabric works really well in complimenting the print.


Crinkled texture photographs


I printed onto the red fabric layer after layer, creating a collage screenprint. Printing this many layers over one another with screens that have been created using wasted, second-hand materials is a way of symbolising the many purposes each item of clothing may have had. For it to have reached myself as waste it’s likely that each piece of clothing has been worn countless times by various different people. Having said that, I’ve aimed to design my prints with circular design in mind, hoping to give each piece I’ve created a regenerative life cycle; meaning they each become useful continually through being reused, recycled, transformed, or repaired. I stopped all the pieces from going to landfill when I collected them originally and intend on keeping it that way.


Final imagery

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page