top of page

Final Installation


After we held our Work-in-Progress Exhibition at uni I came to the conclusion that I hadn't installed my work to its full extent and wanted to alter things in order to exhibit it more successfully.


The things I had to work on were:

  • Giving myself more time to install & deinstall my work

  • Finding a larger space to install my work in - so that I can use all my chosen fabrics and not be limited to space

  • Consider mounting my work differently to communicate the right narrative, eg. Not using wooden pegs and pins as this might make viewers relate my work to washing lines

  • Plan the installation more in terms of layout and colour combinations

  • Iron my fabrics before installing them.


The narrative for my installation visually follows the items of fabric gradually turning from wasted materials into prints. The idea is that the fabrics are shown as waste first, then progressively flow in different movements and textures across the wall, representing the process, of transformation, and become larger printed pieces. The storyline shows that although fabrics might be considered as waste and unwanted materials, they can still be reused, altered, and turned into pieces that have been given another purpose.


This time, instead of using wooden pegs and pins that might make viewers relate my work to washing line clothes I used coat hangers instead, pins that aren't visible when used, and a fishing line to make the fabrics look like they're floating. I chose coat hangers as they represent the clothing being used and coming from a second-hand source.


I further wanted to explore the idea of turning my prints into a representation of the bag I originally picked up all the fabrics in. This would bring the project full circle and incorporate every part that was involved. I didn't have time to sew my entire prints into one large sculpture as a final piece, so I created a miniature version that I integrated into the installation as the pile of waste that gets transformed. In my opinion, the middle part of the installation where the fabric floats across and gets converted is the most engaging and visually appealing, because it demonstrates the change while displaying the texture in a creased and folded manner.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page