top of page

Work-in-progress Exhibition


In our final week of uni before half term we had a work-in-progress exhibition. Although not everyone was necessarily finished with their project at this point, we were all in some area of the realisation stage, which was enough to show our work in a work-in-progress exhibition.


I personally felt that I hadn’t fine-tuned my project enough at this stage but I still tried to communicate my work as best I could so far. Before bringing in the work for the exhibition I made sure to straighten and adjust my fabrics to the right sizes so that they look professional for when I display them. When I collected the fabrics, many of them were loose and had rough edges which I didn't tidy up straight away before printing so I made sure to fix them now.




For the mounting of my pieces I decided to get some push pins and drawing pins that also had wooden pegs attached to them. Throughout the process of my project the pictures of the fabrics folded and creased turned out more successful than the flat ones, because they add more texture to my image and print in comparison. The print still looks engaging when its laid or hung flat, but due to the actual photocopy of the print being a creased fabric I find it was best emphasised when the material that it’s printed on is also creased. Having wooden pegs attached to the pins you use to hang into the wall it allowed me to add more folds and wrinkles rather than my prints being hung and dragged down by gravity.


Setting up the exhibition was slightly hectic as the studio seemed considerably smaller once most people on our course were trying to install their work. As there were so many people in, it didn’t allow us to have that much space each for large work. We obviously also tried to be considerate to others and aimed to give everyone enough space to present their pieces. I found a wall to mount my prints onto but it was already half the size I was expecting it to be initially. This made me have to change the pieces I was going to display in the moment, not giving me enough time to plan out the installation as successfully. I also thought we were given two hours to install our work but it was reduced to one hour, because our tutors wanted to use the second hour for us to walk round and leave feedback for each other. This led me being limited to time and space for installing my pieces and I felt this hindered me in installing my work the way I wanted to.




To give my installation the right narrative that emulates my project and communicates my process appropriately, my storyline visually follows the items of fabric gradually turning from waste into prints. The idea was that the fabrics are shown as waste first, then progressively flow in different movements and textures across the wall and become larger printed pieces. In my opinion the middle part, where the fabric almost floats across, seems like the most engaging and visually appealing, because it demonstrates the transformation while displaying the texture in a creased and folded manner.


I managed to display 3 of the pieces in the way I had hoped at the time, where I suggest that the fabric travels from being waste into the larger prints. The texture of my prints is enhanced by the colours, silk fabric and the folds I created with the pins (which I tried hiding underneath to make them less visible.) The fabrics almost look like they’re moving forms and figures, reaching out to become and turn into something more.



I wasn’t satisfied with the rest of the installation. The dump of fabrics on the floor seemed messy and it wasn’t clear whether it was part of the work, I’m also not confident that I achieved a connection to the three other prints I displayed. My intention with the colours I selected in the prints and fabrics was for them to compliment each other but I feel like they just hang separately and don’t necessarily relate to one another.

I decided I’d have to install my work again to be satisfied with the display. Next time I install it I intend on changing a few things including:

  • Giving myself more time to install & deinstall my work

  • Finding a larger space to install my work in - so that I can use all my chosen pieces and not be limited to space

  • Consider mounting my work differently to communicate the right narrative, eg. Not using wooden pegs and pins as this might make viewers relate my work to washing lines

  • Plan the installation more in terms of layout and colour combinations

  • Iron my fabrics before installing them



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page