top of page

Collages & Leftover Scraps


After having made my 50 postcards where I used different sized materials and smaller fabrics, I noticed there was a lot of scraps left over in the bag I collected originally. There was also a variety of leftovers in the bag initially, that I didn't pick out to print onto.


I figured it would be hypocritical of me to throw away the smaller pieces and not utilise them for something involving my project. As a way of reusing every piece of material I tried to come up with ways of figuring out how these could be useful. Overlooking the work I've produced so far there were a few postcards that stood out to me. I had created collages with some of materials that I really liked the texture of. I decided that rather than printing onto one large piece of fabric I could make a collage instead to print onto.




I selected a few of the smaller pieces and placed them onto fabric. I then screen printed straight onto the collage. Realising that the collage wasn't a flat surface, because the individual pieces of fabric all stood up from the fabric underneath, my screenprint didn't come out as smooth as I’d hoped.



So instead of starting with the collage, I selected numerous individual pieces of fabric, placed them under a screen and printed onto those instead. This allowed me to either make a collage out of the pieces later on, or use them for something else.





I forgot that some of the pieces were leather, and so when I was heat-pressing the pieces, to make sure my print would stay permanent, some of them curled up, while others shrank considerably in size. Although this wasn’t the outcome I expected, I quite like the shape and look of the curled up pieces.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page