top of page

Interrogate your instincts Part II

As I was starting this workshop I was looking forward to questioning and interrogating what draws my interest. When looking through my phone for images I was trying to pick out the photographs that I had taken in the spur of a moment , ones that stood out to me because I’d taken them without too much thought as to why. I have thousands of pictures on my phone and turns out there was a number of them that I barely remembered taking! Once I had collected a fair number for this workshop I tried categorising them into themes/subject wise.




 

Based on these selced items I had 3 different themes .On the left side of the map is a collection of images I took during a walk. Unintentionally, I had noticed the structure of various roofs and decided to capture a number of them. I’d completely forgotten I had taken them and never actually gone back to them to make anything of it.


Keywords:

Structure / architecture / form / unintentional



 

In the middle section of the map I have a few images that I had taken as we’d recently moved into our new flat. We have a lot of mirrors and reflections which dart across the rooms, especially once the sun shines through various windows. These photographs emerged as a result of me noticing these reflections.


Keywords:

Light / reflection / shapes



 

Towards the right section of my map I have a collection of images that I must have taken on a journey. I’ve always found travelling an interesting aspect. What I find especially intriguing is that when you're travelling you're never where you want to be, you're always trying to get from one place to another. Maybe this is why people are so impatient when it comes to travel? My point being, when people travel, they often carry out this task without much thought, with their mind dwelling on other things in life. And it seems as though I took these pictures in that exact state of mind too.


Keywords:

Travel / transport / location / journey



 

I really enjoyed this workshop and would definitely like to carry on creating more spreads in the same way. Revisiting images tends to have a nostalgic effect, especially if we come across images that we only half remember taking. Drawing upon your instincts is vital, but even though theyre instincts, we may not necessarily be aware of them. It’s important to be able to understand, take note and reflect on the things we are overtly and covertly drawn to. this process encouraged me to question why I recorded certain elements, particularly visual language, actions, subjects, colour, form and typography.


When it came to the spreads I decided to take on the approach of a magazine spread. A Fashion / Lifestyle or Art and Design magazine is usually designed very minimalistic, using a blank canvas for the work to stand out. Two-thirds of a page are often photographs. People tend to buy a magazine based on the pictures, with the text content being the secondary role. Photographs and pictures should, therefore, be the main focus when considering the layout.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page