top of page

Katy Welsh


Katy Welsh is an illustrator who creates patterns with ‘gay abandon’. She takes inspiration from many people including Matisse, Picasso, The Bloomsbury Group, and Beyonce. She’s collaborated with many others in order to create work on clothes, jewellery, stationary, homeware and more. With her background in surface and pattern design her textures are incredibly fascinating.

Although I can appreciate flat colour prints, I myself have found a love for textures and patterns, especially after basing my minor project on fabric waste. I created work straight from disregarded fabric which really made me focus on the textures and detail of each material. Even with repeated forms, all of Welsh’s prints are invigorating through her use of colour, pattern, shape, and texture.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page