top of page

Logo design and brand name

As I was considering names for my magazine, I tried to narrow down the most prominent and important words of what the content will represent and contain. These words were;

‘Current Affairs’, ‘People’s Personalities’ and ‘Design’.

From this, I derived a few ideas of what my magazine brand could be called:


  • People Aspect

  • Urban Personalities

  • Current Edge

  • Objective

  • Design Works

‘Current Edge’ stood out to me the most. It’s short and snappy, depicts a contemporary view about today’s society, while also adding a sophisticated and snazzy feel to the name.


When designing a logo for my magazine, I'm aiming to create one that is instantly recognisable, trustworthy and appreciated. Logos represent a company’s commercial brand and are used to portray their identity. One of the most successful designers, Paul Rand believed that “a logo is a flag, a signature, an escutcheon, a street sign. A logo does not sell (directly), it identifies. A logo is rarely a description of a business. A logo derives meaning from the quality of the thing it symbolises, not the other way around. A logo is less important than the product it signifies; what it represents is more important than what it looks like. The subject matter of a logo can be almost anything.”




These are just a couple of magazine logos I researched. ‘7 Ink’ is a logo for a tattoo magazine. It was designed involving a grid which represents the physical drawing process before a tattoo ends up on the skin. ‘Yoom’ is an online wellness magazine that includes articles, treatments, diet plans and products relating to Ayurveda. Ayurveda is a form of medicine containing historical roots coming from the Indian subcontinent. The logo has been created in a fresh, trendy and minimal way.





I started out with a few rough ideas of what my logo could potentially look like. At first I was drawn to the word edge in the name and was trying to incorporate that into the logo. But then I realised that my magazine name doesn't necessarily depict the design part of the magazine, so I decided to include it in the logo instead. The sketchy paintbrush mark perfectly indicates the design aspect in my magazine. It’s also distinctive, and is able to communicate my concept in a simple, yet effective, way.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page