top of page

Son of a Glitch

Our second workshop was based on chance. Dice, a coin and 2 sheets of paper containing a list of words were provided. The challenge was for us to refine our story, as well as including sophistication and precision. Ideally, this will create a deeper and longer lasting resonance with our viewers.



When I flipped the coin, ‘heads’ was my outcome, which meant I had to sketch something in a third person objective. If a story is depicted from a third person’s view, the narrator merely describes the circumstance or the events to do with the characters but doesn't display any feeling or thoughts relating to them. The storyline is objective, meaning no characters perspective is favoured.

Had my coin given me the option ‘tail’, I would have had to illustrate something from a first person view.


When it came to rolling the dice, these were the following options we were given:

1. Overcoming the Monster

2. Rags to Riches

3. The Quest

4. Comedy

5. Tragedy

6. Rebirth


The dice landed on the number six, meaning my story was meant to convey change, renewal and transformation. I decided to bring ‘rebirth’ into my narrative by portraying a soldier in 3 different stages of his life. Through his experience, somewhat traumatic, he has changed from being an innocent young adult who is ready to start his career as a soldier, into a tough, yet sensitive man, who has had many years of fighting behind him.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page